Time for a good wash . . .

Athletes are a superstitious bunch, and fans are no better. I blame myself for some of the struggles the team has endured over the past season and a half, since I only just realized my own abilities to affect my team’s fortunes. I can’t remember the last time West Ham won a game while I wore my jersey. I do however, remember losing to Liverpool 3-0 in a bar filled with Pudlians, blowing a 2-0 lead to ManU at home, watching Nigel de Jong of all people score from 20 yards out, and now checking the Reading score to see 2 red cards and another 3-0 thrashing. All games I’ve worn my jersey in so I’m doing my part this week by throwing the accursed thing in the laundry and hopefully washing the bad luck away. If nothing else, even if we drop another game I can lose myself in the smell of a fresh, spring rainfall.

~ by ar_sage on December 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
