Welcome

Hello there.  If you are reading this, my guess is that you are probably a West Ham fan, and you are probably British (or you are one of my friends who got sick of hearing me talk about my blog).  If I’m wrong, please accept my apologies since I personally know only 1 other West Ham fan and believe it or not, he is British.  However, the chances are probably pretty good that I am right.  American West Ham fans are rare where I am from (Columbus, Ohio – Go Buckeyes) , which is one of the reasons I started writing this blog.  I read the other West Ham blogs and follow the fan sites, and I figured it was finally time to put my opinions down somewhere.

Just to give you an idea where I’m coming from, let me regale you with the story of how I became a West Ham fan.  Though I’ve played soccer (or football if you will) my whole life, I’ve never seriously followed club teams.  Sure the World Cup would role around every 4 years, and there would be an upswell of national pride for an American International team that was always worse than advertised.  In 2006, a writer for the great ESPN.com,  Bill Simmons (The Sports Guy) wrote a two piece article in which he went through the process of choosing an EPL team to support.  It’s a great read, I highly recommend giving it a gander just to see how he reasoned out everything:

http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/page2/story?page=simmons/060719

Long story short, he ended up picking Tottenham (what a wonderful decision that was), but that led me to do my own research and pick West Ham.  The history of the club, the passionate fans, the Academy of Football, it was the correct choice for me.  It was too easy to pick a Chelsea, or ManU, or Arsenal because everyone picks them.  I must be a masochist, because the teams I support are never the outstanding ones (enter into evidence the Cincinnati Reds and Bengals), so why not add another to the list?  And so I did, and that is where I proudly stand today.

This post is too long so I’ll wrap it up.  Thank you for reading, feel free to let me know what you think (in a polite manner of course), and hopefully this will be enough fun for me to keep up.  Cheers.

~ by ar_sage on May 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
